The Federation in Star Trek

The Federation of the United Planets is an interplanetary federal republic. More than 150 planets, several thousand colonies, on the Alpha and Beta Quadrants of the Milky Way, over a territory of more than 8000 light years are thus united.

The Federation is based on the principles of freedom, equality, justice and cooperation. Its purpose are to harmonize peace in the galaxy, explore, establish diplomatic missions, conduct scientific researches, archaeological works, via Starfleet, a fleet of spacecraft.

The Federation is often confronted to the Klingons, the Romulans, the Cardassians, the Dominions or the Borg. Not to mention Ferengis and Q.

The Federation was born in 2155. It was then called “Coalition of the Planets”. It will be called Federation in 2161. The main peoples are the Vulcans, the Humans, the Andorians, the Tellarites, the Denobulians, the Rigelians, and the Coridanites.

The seat of the Federation is set in Paris.

Starfleet is also responsible for the defense of the Federation. The economy of the Federation has no money. The food being created by synthesizers. There are no more poor people, no famine. Some species continue to use currencies in the galaxy. Starting with the Ferengis. The Federation therefore uses latinium to trade with such species.

The Federation does not come into direct contact with the species it encounters as long as they have not been able to travel faster than the speed of light.

Among the parallel universes, there is the Mirror Universe in which the earthlings are a totalitarian people that have their own empire and have enslaved the other species present in the Federation.